Program Goals

At Community Preschool we encourage each child to become independently self-directed and self-disciplined, to develop socialization skills and to learn through a stimulating, print-rich environment, and interactive development program.

Activities & Features

Class time includes group and free choice activities, special times for music and movement, opportunities for sharing, enriching field trips, cooking experiences, and special visitors and presenters.

Parental involvement in class is welcomed, and especially encouraged during field trips and on your child’s “special day”.

At the end of each school year, every child at Community Preschool receives a personalized photo memory book, filled with images and art from throughout the year. It’s a great way to look back and remember the fun and growth that each child experiences.


Registration opens in February for classes beginning that fall. Children who were previously enrolled and their siblings are given the first option for enrolling in the 3-day or 4-day classes.

Community Preschool welcomes children and families without regard to race, religion, color, national/ethnic origin or disability.

Fall 2023 Registration Schedule

  • February 7-11: currently enrolled students and siblings
  • February 14-18: Community Mennonite Church
  • Febrauary 21 until full: open to the public

Fall 2023 Class Availability

  • 2-Day Morning: FULLcontact us to be added to a waiting list.
  • 3-Day Morning: FULLcontact us to be added to a waiting list.

Religious Affiliation

We are located in Community Mennonite Church, but are a non-denominational, thematic based preschool. Community Preschool bases its philosophy upon meeting the physical, mental, social and emotional needs of young children by providing opportunities for experiences which are adapted to individual development and age level.

Board of Directors

Community Preschool is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization governed by a board of directors. The board is comprised of parents, and representatives from Community Mennonite Church. Current Board Members include the following.

President: Eric Saner, [email protected]
Vice President: Olivia Burkholder
Secretary: Veva Mumaw
Treasurer: Heidi Derstine
Parent Rep: Missi Ratliff
Parent Rep: Kaitlyn Hall